Advisors & Office Hours

Advising Hours - In progress - Hours subject to change

Undergraduate

SPRING 2023

Advising will resume in spring semester Monday January 30th.

Please select an advisor that matches with your concentration or "subject" as listed below.

Many advisors have their availability listed on Navigator (https://sfsu.campus.eab.com/home) with appointment options.

Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation Biology is abbreviated as EECB.

 

Subject Advisor Email Office M T W TH F Notes Planned Absences
Cell & Molecular Biology                    
Cell & Molecular
Biology
Ivan
Anastassov
ianastassov@sfsu.edu HH
214
9-11            
Cell & Molecular
Biology
Wilfred
Denetclaw
denetclw@sfsu.edu Zoom            3-5

Zoom Link
Meeting ID:
464 117 3802 
Passcode: 576011

1/27
conference
Cell & Molecular
Biology
Zachary
(Zheng-Hui)
He
zhe@sfsu.edu Zoom     1-3    

Zoom Link
Meeting ID:
518 874 4040
Passcode: lovebiol

 
Cell & Molecular
Biology
Scott
Roy
roy@sfsu.edu              

 

Cell & Molecular
Biology
Nicole
Salazar Velmeshev
nsave@sfsu.edu Zoom 9-11         Signup using Navigator
 
 
                     
EECB                    
EECB
(Botany),
and
General Biology
Jason
Cantley
cantley@sfsu.edu HH
417-429
  1-3       HH 427-429
Harry D. Thiers Herbarium
 
EECB
(Botany),
and
Physiology
Kevin
Simonin
simonin@sfsu.edu HH
438
    10:30-
12:30
       
EECB (Evolution) Jaime
Chaves
jachaves@sfsu.edu HH
759
    2-4        
EECB (Zoology) Andrea
Swei
aswei@sfsu.edu Zoom   9-11       Zoom Link  
                     
General Biology                    
General Biology BA Andy
Zink
zink@sfsu.edu HH
760
8:30-
10:30
           
General Biology BA Gretchen LeBuhn lebuhn@sfsu.edu Zoom    11-1         Please schedule
on Navigator

 

General Biology BA Ravinder Sehgal sehgal@sfsu.edu In person preferred
(HH 723),
Zoom Available
      3-5   Zoom Link
Meeting ID:
928 3417 1992
Passcode: 468948
 
General Biology BA Sally
Pasion
pasion@sfsu.edu HH619 and
Zoom
      3:30-
5:30
 

Please schedule
on Navigator

Zoom Link

2/2/23,
my office
hours are 9-11am
                     
Marine
Science
                   
Marine
Science
Karen
Crow
crow@sfsu.edu HH
708
    3:30-
5
      3/29-4/20,
DEEP field course
Marine
Science
Sarah
Cohen
sarahcoh@sfsu.edu Zoom 9-11am        

Zoom Link
Meeting ID:
612 406 202

 
                     
Microbiology                    
Microbiology José R.
de la Torre
jdelator@sfsu.edu HH
437
  10-12       Zoom advising
available by request
 
Microbiology,
PINC, gSTAR, GOLD
Pleuni
Pennings
pennings@sfsu.edu HH
520 &
Zoom
    HH 520 3-4 Zoom
2-3
 

Zoom Link
Meeting ID:
477 849 8638
Passcode: 311997

 
Microbiology,
CIRM Stem Cell 
Lily
Chen
lilychen@sfsu.edu HH
520
    3-4     Zoom advising
also available by appointment
 
                     
Physiology                    
Physiology Alejandro
Vélez
avelezm@sfsu.edu HH
418
      9:30-
11:30
    2/23,
NSF Panel
Physiology Chris
Moffatt
moffatt@sfsu.edu Zoom 12-2        

Zoom Link
Meeting ID:
942 4546 4409
Passcode: Moffatt

 
Physiology Derrick
Groom
dgroom@sfsu.edu HH
419
10-12            
Physiology Jennifer Breckler  jbreck@sfsu.edu             Zoom Link
Meeting ID:
934 8241 1903
Passcode: 356872 
 
Physiology Jonathon Stillman stillmaj@sfsu.edu Zoom   8-10       Please schedule
on Navigator
1/31
Physiology Megumi
Fuse
fuse@sfsu.edu Zoom     10-12    

Zoom Link

 
Physiology Robyn
Crook
rcrook@sfsu.edu HH
421
  10-11   10-11   Please schedule
on Navigator
 
                     
Unavailable                    
Cell & Molecular Biology Mark
Chan

yhmchan@sfsu.edu

Unavailable
 
          Sabbatical
- Unavailable Spring 23
 
Microbiology Joseph
Chen
chenj@sfsu.edu Unavailable           Sabbatical
- Unavailable '22/23
 
EECB (Ecology) Katharyn
Boyer
katboyer@sfsu.edu Unavailable           Interim Director of
SF State Estuary
and Ocean Science Center
- Unavailable '22/23
 
General Biology BA Kimberly Tanner kdtanner@sfsu.edu Unavailable                      Rotating Program Officer
in the Division of Undergraduate Education
at the National Science Foundation
- Unavailable '22/23
 

Graduate

Graduate Advisors & Office Hours
(Hours subject to change)

Subject Graduate |
Advisor
Notes Email Office M T W TH F
All Majors Diana Chu Zoom Link
Meeting ID: 879 4982 0819
Passcode: 945304
Virtual appointments.
Please email before to confirm scheduling
chud@sfsu.edu
 
Zoom     10-12    
Integrative
Biology
Andrea Swei Zoom Link
 
aswei@sfsu.edu
 
Zoom   11-1      
Physiology and
Behavior
Robyn Crook Please schedule on Navigator rcrook@sfsu.edu
 
HH
421
  9-10   9-10  
Biomedical
Science
Lily Chen

In-person advising by appointment only.

Zoom Link
Meeting ID: 921 6801 1505
Passcode: microbe

lilychen@sfsu.edu Zoom     3-4