Advisors & Office Hours

Advising Hours -  Hours subject to change

Undergraduate

Fall 2022

The advising schedule below is effective starting August 22nd.

Please select an advisor that matches with your concentration or "subject" as listed below. Many advisors have their availability listed on Navigator (https://sfsu.campus.eab.com/home) with appointment options. Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation Biology is abbreviated as EECB.

 

Subject Advisor Email Office M T W TH F Notes Planned Absences
Cell & Molecular Biology Mark Chan

yhmchan@sfsu.edu

HH450 or Zoom 10am - 12pm         Please schedule on Navigator  
Cell & Molecular Biology Nicole Salazar Velmeshev nsave@sfsu.edu Zoom 11 am - 12 pm   11 am - 12 pm     Please schedule on Navigator
 
 
Cell & Molecular Biology Rori Rohlfs rrohlfs@sfsu.edu Zoom   12 - 2 pm       https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/84348217770?pwd
=NWVQUUczU2VocmxVSEkvd0N5WVVwdz09
 
Cell & Molecular Biology Wilfred Denetclaw denetclw@sfsu.edu Zoom            3 - 5 pm

https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/4641173802?pwd=V1NUWj
AydUIrbzh4VGw4emhqV3NkUT09

Meeting ID: 464 117 3802  Passcode: 576011

 
Cell & Molecular Biology Zachary (Zheng-Hui) He zhe@sfsu.edu Zoom 2:30 -3:30 pm   2:30 -3:30 pm     Please schedule on Navigator  
Cell & Molecular Biology, Physiology Ivan Anastassov ianastassov@sfsu.edu HH214   9 - 11am         09/06
EECB (Botany), General Biology Jason Cantley cantley@sfsu.edu HH 427-429     3 - 5 pm     HH 427-429 Harry D. Thiers Herbarium  
EECB (Botany), Physiology Kevin Simonin simonin@sfsu.edu HH 438   3 - 5 pm          
EECB (Evolution) Jaime Chaves jachaves@sfsu.edu HH 759     1 - 3 pm        
EECB (Zoology) Andrea Swei aswei@sfsu.edu Zoom   10 am - 12 pm       https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/2689474197?pwd
=aitIeGVXY2NxZi9YTFM1U3NnQUNidz09
 
General Biology BA Andy Zink zink@sfsu.edu Zoom     11 am - 1 pm     Please schedule on Navigator  
General Biology BA Gretchen LeBuhn lebuhn@sfsu.edu Zoom    11 - 12 pm   11 - 12 pm     Please schedule on Navigator  
General Biology BA Ravinder Sehgal sehgal@sfsu.edu In person preferred (HH 723), Zoom availabile         3 - 5 pm  https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/92834171992?pwd
=V3NZeUl4ZlNWN1NNRnNBUDhHellFQT09

Meeting ID: 928 3417 1992
Passcode: 468948
September 5th through 13th 
General Biology BA Sally Pasion pasion@sfsu.edu Zoom       3:30 - 5:30pm   Please schedule on Navigator  
Marine Science Karen
Crow
crow@sfsu.edu zoom       3 - 4 pm   meetings available by appointment  
Marine Science Sarah Cohen sarahcoh@sfsu.edu Zoom 9 - 10 am       9 - 10 am https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/612406202
Meeting ID: 612 406 202
 
Microbiology Erica Sanchez elsanchez09@sfsu.edu Zoom     9:30 - 11:30 am    

https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/94421512866?pwd
=ODg4elJwclZmaVl5Qm1iZWxES2dNdz09

Meeting ID: 944 2151 2866
Passcode: 495409

 
Microbiology José R. de la Torre jdelator@sfsu.edu HH 437     10:00 am - 12:00 pm     Zoom advising available by request  
Microbiology, PINC, gSTAR, GOLD Pleuni Pennings pennings@sfsu.edu In person 12:15 - 1:00 pm     3 - 4 pm   Tuesdays in HH 543, Thursdays in HH 501  
Microbiology, CIRM Stem Cell  Lily Chen lilychen@sfsu.edu HH 501       3 - 4 pm      
Physiology Alejandro Vélez avelezm@sfsu.edu HH 418 3 - 5 pm            
Physiology Chris Moffatt moffatt@sfsu.edu Zoom 12 -
2 pm
        https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/94245464409?pwd=
T1pIWUNGMjhuT0gzb2xOM1dVOWhwUT09
 
Physiology Derrick Groom dgroom@sfsu.edu Zoom 10 -
12 pm
        https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/85486796437?pwd=
Y0pyWXAyTnZybG1DSDRnbDFkSTBoQT09
 
Physiology Jennifer Breckler  jbreck@sfsu.edu     9:30 - 10:30 am, 5:00 - 6:00 pm       https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/93482411903?pwd=
STVhQndFUjA3MGRUMnhFY3VxcElwdz09
Meeting ID: 934 8241 1903

Passcode: 356872 
 
Physiology Jonathon Stillman stillmaj@sfsu.edu Zoom     11:30 am -12:30 pm 11:30 am -12:30 pm   Sign up for time with either link: https://docs.
google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Uog6Mq9wKm
Wk_Q3Hamn4yZ1o7WzMII_nshWMG6OFP
7A/edit#gid=0       
https://sfsu.campus.eab.com/pal/mIdQZ_xJ09
09/22
Physiology Megumi Fuse fuse@sfsu.edu Zoom  

3:30 -
5:30 pm

       https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/560354370  
Physiology Robyn Crook rcrook@sfsu.edu HH 421 9-10 am   9-10 am     Please schedule on Navigator 9/28 and 11/2
                     
                     
EECB (Ecology) Katharyn Boyer katboyer@sfsu.edu Unavailable '22/23           Interim Director of SF State Estuary
and Ocean Science Center
 
General Biology BA Kimberly Tanner kdtanner@sfsu.edu Unavailable '22/23           Rotating Program Officer in the Division of Undergraduate Education at the National Science Foundation  

Graduate

Graduate Advisors & Office Hours
(Hours subject to change)

Subject Graduate Advisor Notes Email Office M T W TH F
All Majors Diana Chu https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/87949820819?pwd
=RFBPc2FDL3djTVZyU0VGbnFNRXN6QT09

Meeting ID: 879 4982 0819
Passcode: 945304
Virtual appointments. Please email before to confirm scheduling
chud@sfsu.edu
 
Zoom 11-1        
Integrative Biology Andrea Swei https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/2689474197?pwd
=aitIeGVXY2NxZi9YTFM1U3NnQUNidz09
aswei@sfsu.edu
 
Zoom   10-12      
Physiology and Behavior Robyn Crook Please schedule on Navigator rcrook@sfsu.edu
 
HH 421 9-10   9-10    
Biomedical Science Lily Chen

https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/92168011505?pwd
=QXIxYVJHT1NwZWVFUkNWVUUremFxQT09

In-person advising by appointment only.
Meeting ID: 921 6801 1505 Passcode: microbe

lilychen@sfsu.edu
 
Zoom   4-5 PM      

CIRM Stem Cell 

Monthly Open House

Lily Chen

The first Monday of each month
Monday (9/5, 10/3, 11/7, 12/5) 4-5 PM
https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/83738733095?pwd=Q2
5ZTmY2S2pBTnVBSWFIY1BLTEJkZz09

Meeting ID: 921 6801 1505 Passcode: microbe

lilychen@sfsu.edu Zoom