Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards

Nomination Application for Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards

The Distinguished Faculty and Staff awards are designed to honor outstanding tenured faculty and lecturers who have taught at SF State for six or more years and have a .6 or greater teaching load in the areas of teaching, professional achievement and service. These awards also honor staff members who have made outstanding contributions to the University, to the extended community, and/or to their profession via participation in service activities. All staff members who have worked full-time at SF State for six or more years are eligible. Deans, other administrators, and previous winners of this award are ineligible. The Faculty and Staff Awards Committee encourages nominators to re-nominate candidates who were not selected in previous competitions and encourages nominations for prior award recipients in other award categories. The faculty-award categories are in the areas of: 

·         Teaching (Tenured faculty) 

·         Teaching (Lecturers) 

·         Professional Achievement (Tenured faculty) 

·         Service (Tenured faculty) 

The staff award is in the area of Service to the University, to the extended community, and/or to the profession.

Nomination and Award Process Deadline: 

Nominations and required supporting materials must be submitted no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, April 15, 2024.
Applications will be reviewed by the Faculty and Staff Awards Committee.

·         Award recipients will be announced at the Academic Senate meeting on May 14, 2024. A brief mention of the awards may be announced during the Open University Convocation at the start of the following academic year in August.

·         Honorees receive a $4000 stipend (approximately $2500 after tax deductions) for the Excellence in TeachingExcellence in Professional Achievement and Excellence in Service awards. In addition, honorees receive a commemorative plaque and certificate

Nomination materials must include:

1.    One to three letters of recommendation

2.    The Faculty & Lecturer nominee’s comprehensive curriculum vitae or resume 

3.    For teaching-award nominees, a summary highlighting the nominee’s teaching effectiveness (student and peer evaluations) for at least the past five years. Please provide a list or table with the following information: (a) All courses taught by semester and year for at least the past five years; (b) Quantitative mean scores; and

4.    For service-award staff nominees, a comprehensive list of service activities.

Click here to access the 2024 Distinguished Faculty Awards Website

Here is the list for Biology past winners in each category:


Excellence In Teaching Award (Tenured):

2021, Katharyn Boyer , Professor

2019, Christopher Moffatt , Professor 

2018, Kimberly Tanner, Professor 


Excellence in Teaching Award (lecturer):

2020, William Cochlan, Emeritus Lecturer


Excellence in Service:

2021, Sally Pasion, Associate Professor 

2020, Michael Goldman, Professor 

2012, Barry Rothman, Professor Emeritus 


Excellence in Professional Achievement Award:

2020, Leticia Marquez-Magana, Professor 

2019, Zheng-Hui He, Professor 

2018, Tom Parker, Professor Emeritus 

2017, Jonathon Stillman, Professor 

2010, Edward Connor, Professor Emeritus 

2007, Dennis Desjardin, Professor Emeritus 


Excellence in Service (Staff):

None from Biology