Biology Department photograph montage

Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation Biology (EECB)

Acting Coordinator: 
Dr. Andrew Zink

This concentration is designed for students aiming to go on to Ph.D. programs or enter the workplace in fields such as systematics, evolution, conservation, population genetics, genomics, behavior of organisms; community, population, reproductive, physiological, and evolutionary ecology; taxonomy, biodiversity, and biogeography. Each faculty member serves as advisor and major professor for students working on research programs in the faculty member's area of specialization. With their advisor, students plan a program of courses that will meet their individual goals and academic or professional interests. For additional details, contact the individual faculty of interest to you.

Faculty:   Katharyn Boyer, Jason Cantley, Sarah Cohen, Edward Connor, Karen Crow-Sanchez, Dennis Desjardin, John Hafernik(Retired), Gretchen LeBuhn, V. Thomas Parker(Retired), Robert Patterson(Retired), Eric Routman, Scott Roy, Ravinder Sehgal,  Kevin SimoninGreg Spicer, Andrea Swei, José de la Torre, Vance Vredenburg, Stanley Williams, Andrew Zink.

Affiliated Faculty:
— California Academy of Sciences Research Professors:
Shannon Bennett, Jack Dumbacher, Brian Fisher, Terrence Gosliner, Richard Mooi, Nathalie Nagalingum, Luiz Rocha, Peter RoopnarineBrian SimisonGary Williams.

 Carlos Davidson, Program Director, Environmental Studies, SFSU

Biology Graduate Programs: