Biology Department photograph montage

Conservation Biology

Coordinator: Dr. Robert Patterson

Students can select areas of specialization within the framework of conservation biology. This concentration is tailored by advisement to the interests and needs of each student. The areas of emphasis in this concentration are: conservation, evolution and population biology of rare and endangered species; ecology of invasive species; management and conservation of natural communities; restoration ecology; applied ecology.

Faculty:  Katharyn Boyer, Sarah Cohen, Edward Connor, Karen Crow-Sanchez, Dennis Desjardin, John Hafernik, Gretchen LeBuhn, V. Thomas Parker, Robert Patterson, Eric Routman, Ravinder Sehgal, Chris Smith, Greg Spicer, Vance Vredenburg, Stanley Williams, Andrew Zink.

Affiliated Faculty:
— California Academy of Sciences Research Professors: Frank Almeda, Thomas Daniel, Robert Drewes, Jack Dumbacher, Brian Fisher, Peter Fritsch, Terrence Gosliner, Charles Griswold, David Kavanaugh, John McCosker, Richard Mooi, Peter Roopnarine, Brian Simison, Gary Williams.

Carlos Davidson, Program Director, Environmental Studies, SFSU


SFSU Graduate Programs: