Biology Department photograph montage

CAS Research Professors

Curators at the California Academy of Sciences (CAS) may have graduate faculty status in the Biology Department as CAS Research Professors. These faculty may accept and direct their own graduate students. Students working for CAS Research Professors are normal M.S. students in the Biology Department.

https://www.calacademy.org/staff/ibss
 


Research Professors

Anthropology

 

Botany

Frank Almeda (falmeda@calacademy.org) (Retired/no longer accepting students)
Nathalie Nagalingum, Ph.D (nnagalingum@calacademy.org)

Center for Comparative Genomics

Brian Simison (bsimison@calacademy.org)

Entomology

Brian Fisher (bfisher@calacademy.org)
Lauren Esposito (lesposito@calacademy.org)
Michelle Trautwein (MTrautwein@calacademy.org)
David Kavanaugh (dkavanaugh@calacademy.org)(Retired/no longer accepting students)
Durrell Kapan (dkapan@calacademy.org)

Herpetology

Robert Drews (rdrewes@calacademy.org) (Retired/no longer accepting students)
Rayna Bell (rbell@calacademy.org)

Invertebrate Zoology & Geology


Terrance Gosliner
(tgosliner@calacademy.org)
Richard Mooi (rmooi@calacademy.org)
Peter Roopnarine (proopnarine@calacademy.org)
Gary Williams (gwilliams@calacademy.org)
Rebecca Albright, PhD (ralbright@calacademy.org)

Microbiology

Shannon Bennett (SBennett@calacademy.org)

Vertebrate Zoology & Anthropology

Jack Dumbacher (JDumbacher@calacademy.org)
Luiz Rocha (lrocha@calacademy.org)