Biology Department photograph montage

CAS Research Professors

Curators at the California Academy of Sciences (CAS) may have graduate faculty status in the Biology Department as CAS Research Professors. These faculty may accept and direct their own graduate students. Students working for CAS Research Professors are normal M.S. students in the Biology Department.

Research Professors

Anthropology

Zeresenay Alemseged (ZAlemseged@calacademy.org)

Botany

Frank Almeda (falmeda@calacademy.org) (Retired/no longer accepting students)
Nathalie Nagalingum, Ph.D

Center for Comparative Genomics

Brian Simison (bsimison@calacademy.org)

Entomology

Brian Fisher (bfisher@calacademy.org)
Lauren Esposito (lesposito@calacademy.org)
Michelle Trautwein (MTrautwein@calacademy.org)
David Kavanaugh (dkavanaugh@calacademy.org)(Retired/no longer accepting students)

Durrell Kapan (dkapan@calacademy.org)

Herpetology

Robert Drews (rdrewes@calacademy.org) (Retired/no longer accepting students)

Invertebrate Zoology & Geology

Terrance Gosliner (tgosliner@calacademy.org)
Richard Mooi (rmooi@calacademy.org)
Peter Roopnarine (proopnarine@calacademy.org)
Robert Van Syoc
Gary Williams (gwilliams@calacademy.org)
Rebecca Albright, PhD (ralbright@calacademy.org)

Microbiology

Shannon Bennett (SBennett@calacademy.org)

Vertebrate Zoology & Anthropology

Rebecca Albright (ralbright@calacademy.org)
Jack Dumbacher (JDumbacher@calacademy.org)
Luiz Rocha (lrocha@calacademy.org)